© 2024 KUAF
NPR Affiliate since 1985
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Sound Perimeter: Cheers and Tears

Tina Oppenheimer

On today's Sound Perimeter, University of Arkansas Music Professor Lia Uribe explores the uniqueness of music that combines beauty and sadness and its ability to reach the core of our humanness. Uribe includes the following pieces of music to illustrate her point: Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony 7 in A major, opus 92, second movement performed by the Vienna Philharmonic under the direction of Leonard Bernstein, Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings and Maxence Cyrin's piano cover of "Where is My Mind" by The Pixies. Local artist Tina Oppenheimer has also created a special edition Cheers and Tears greeting card inspired by Sound Perimeter.

Leigh Wood was the General Manager of KUAF from August 2019 to February 2024. She also produced several KUAF podcasts including Resilient Black Women, The R Word and RefleXions.
Related Content